Quickie update

It has been a terribly long time since I have contributed anything to the blogosphere.  I am beginning to feel a bit guilty.

I have been neglectful. I apologize.

But, I have (good) reason.  I have been quite busy in the garden.  Not only with the vegetables but with the great collection of weeds that we were trying to pass off as a garden.  Also, I have had a few other projects that I have been following up on like: Project: Find-A-Porch-Contractor (our current one didn’t survive the winter very well); Project: Figure-Out-What-I-Wanna-Do-When-I-Grow-Up (ongoing); Project: Play Wii (a serious time commitment); and Project: Learn-Java-Programming.  Unfortunately, Project: Keep-up-with-the-blog fell a bit to the wayside. ANYWAY!

Update: Garden.

The most recent pics of the squarefoot garden are here.

Progress in the squarefoot garden

Progress in the squarefoot garden

A lunch harvest worth the wait

A lunch harvest worth the wait

Two Lunch Salads. One with Meat.

Two Lunch Salads. One with Meat.

I have had my first real harvest. There was enough arugula, basil, parsley and even a tiny onion that I was able to make two nice salads for us for lunch on Friday, my day off.  With a little added tomato from the kitchen and some walnuts, a couple of chunks of watermellon and some sliced grapes it was a satisfying repast. It felt great to be harvesting and eating  food that I grew. I knew how it was grown, where it was grown and when it harvested. The only way that it could have been any fresher would be if I actually sat in the garden and ate it.

Update: Work

I have started work on the TV Series that I had done the pilot for earlier this year.  It is one of only two scripted dramas that the network has picked up this year and I dare say that it may end up being a hit with the changes that they have proposed for it.  I don’t want to say too much because I’m sure that, in the mountain of paperwork that I signed at the begining of my tenure there,  I must not be legally able to say anything about it without threat of them coming to take my home, my legs and future children.  It is temporary work for now but that may change as things seem to always do in the world of film and TV.

Long hours, unfortunatlely it all started just as T. was beginning summer vacation from her teaching  job.  This will be the eternal battle if I don’t move into teaching get a job that allows for vacation time during the summer.  Summer is my busy time here in Toronto for film. But, I want to make a shift anyway. Perhaps “teaching”  in some form is an option.

Update: Being a Geek.

I have undertaken the task of teaching myself to program in Java.  For those of you that are not geeks this means nothing to you.  For those of you that ARE geeks, you may understand what I am talking about and why I might want to learn it.  I have considered going into computer programming as a career but I decided that before I do so, I might want to give it a try before I trash all of the learning and experience that I have been working on for the last 20 or so years. I’ll try it out, see if I like it or even understand it and then maybe think about taking a course. For now, the “Head First Java: 2nd Edition” will be a good start.  I quite like the approach that the book takes to book learning something so dense and dry.  It offers up lots of pictures, puzzles, and humour to help make it sink in to the brain.  I guess we’ll see how effective it is soon enough.

Update: Podcast listening

I have found a few more podcasts that I have begun listening to with regularity.  Some of them I even listened to all of them to get caught up and am now impatiently awaiting new episodes. I looking at you Extruding America!

That said, here are some new faves:

Extruding America: A comedy podcast with a storyline. It feels like slightly bent old time radio.  Maybe like Vinyl Cafe meets Hunter S. Thompson without the drugs and guns but with the search for America.

Arrive Having Eaten: Another comedy podcast.  This one is just two people (Ben and Erica) that “met” through their interaction on Twitter. They record their Skype conversations, that are usually quite entertaining and funny,  edit them and release them as podcasts.  Light hearted fun with some slightly juvenile humour. Just up my street.

Grammar Girl: I have just recently started listening to this informative podcast.  Hopefully, I will learn from it and my grammar will become much more gooder.

That is all.

For now.

Out to sit and have a Sunday evening beer in the backyard,  look at the garden and Q up some pork chops for dinner.  I don’t want to go to work tomorrow.

and why I might want to learn it.  I have considered going into computer programming as a career but I decided that before I do so, I might want to give it a try before I trash all of the learning and experience that I have been working on for the last 20 or so years. I’ll try it out, see if I like it or even understand it and then maybe think about taking a course. For now, the “Head First Java: 2nd Edition” will be a good start.  I quite like the approach that the book takes to book learning something so dense and dry.  It offers up lots of pictures, puzzles, and humour to help make it sink in to the brain.  The philosophy of learning ( I guess that is a pedago
7 comments on “Quickie update

  1. Hey Doug, as the old saying goes, ‘never stop learning. A mind is a terrible thing to waste’. You have a good one, just hone it to the desired task.’ signed, your loving mother.(and not too prejudice.)

  2. Sorry to hear that your current Porch contractor didn’t make it through the winter. Had he been ill very long?

    Nice job with the veggies, but isn’t this all just a baby step towards raising your own meat? Doug needs a farm, dammit! (Not that I want you to “buy the farm”. I’m just sayin’.)

    Also, kudos on the learnin’ Java stuff. I would love to pick up a little bit of Java too. In about a month or so, I’ll be down to only about a dozen projects or so on the go – maybe I’ll pick up a copy of the book and we can learn together. It worked okay for the Casio keyboard rendition of “Gilligan’s Island”, why not computer programming?

  3. warwalker/junior – Ha ha. The porch didn’t survive either.
    I’m thinking pigs would be tasty to raise but sheep might be better at cutting the grass. I wonder what the current by-laws in the GTA are for livestock. They certainly don’t like chickens…… hmmm chickens.
    I believe that the Gilligan’s Island theme was actually my first answer on the English exam that I was supposed to be studying for in the first place. Apparently, the theme had nothing to do with Hamlet. It’s a shame really, it could have made for an interesting twist to the plot. Perhaps Gilligan and the Skipper would make a better, extended version of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern. The Professor: Polonius. Ginger would have made a HOT Ophelia. Perhaps Mr. & Mrs. Howell as Claudius and Gertrude. I could go on. Perhaps that is ANOTHER project.

  4. Dude, there totally was an episode in which the castaways assumed the roles of the dramatis personae in Hamlet. They made some interesting artistic choices – turned it into a musical, I believe; I have a distinct recollection of the Skipper as Polonius (I think) singing “Neither a borr’wer nor a lender be…” and “To be, or not to be, that is the question that I ask of thee”.

    You could look it up. It’s true.

Leave a Reply

