A SlugisDoug Special Presentation: Junior and Slugs

This week a special presentation. After several months, the podcast that I recorded with my brother, Junior, back in November of  2009 is finally ready.  We have been trying to get it to a point where we are both satisfied with it to release it to the world. However, we have both been very busy; some of us more than others and to top it all off Junior got a MacBook for Christmas and wanted to try his hand at editing on a Mac.  So now, without further delay, the first episode of what we were then calling “Eavesdropping  Episode 1: Behind Me? A Gong.”  The big question: Will there be an episode 2?  If so, when?  I guess we’ll have to wait and see.  And remember to drop us a comment to let us know what you think either here on the blog or at doug (at) slugisdoug (dot) com.

Enjoy.

Stream

Direct Link to mp3

5 comments on “A SlugisDoug Special Presentation: Junior and Slugs

  1. It’s just like when there was a Very Special Little House!!! How exciting….

    This isn’t the one where we talked about E.L.O., geeks and Dungeons and Dragons, right? Right? RIGHT? Oh.

  2. Okay. I’m back home from Myrtle Beach and ready to block out some time to listen to these podcasts. It doesn’t hurt that I have a massive head cold courtesy of your mother and don’t feel like doing anything else so here goes my thoughts in no particular order.
    1. Fascinating podcast to listen to. It is difficult for a “logical” thinker like me to understand how an artist thinks and creates and you have given me some insight into that process.I know I can do math and spell and memorize things for exams but I never knew the answer to the question “And what did the author mean by this passage?” It was not usually bleeding obvious and I could never figure it out but usually once it was pointed out I could see where it came from and could then memorize it for the next exam. Same problem with song lyrics after the 50’s. Prior to that time, the words were usually pronounced clearly (especially the non-rock songs) and were pretty clear what they meant. I didn’t need an interpreter. Starting with the 60’s, I usually just listened to the sound and if it made me feel good I liked it regardless of the words which I couldn’t make out clearly anyway. (Does Pool Hall Ace ring a bell?)
    2. A plea for all you listeners to loud music. Please take care of your ears and dial the volume down. About 15 years ago I was playing a CD very loud in my headphones (as usual) (PS it was the Heroes CD but it is not your fault) and the next day I awoke to hearing the sound of Lake Huron in my ears. That would be fine if I was at the cottage but I was at home. I have had this noise in my ears ever since and after tests have found out I can hear no sounds over 2500CPS which is pretty low. I also can’t properly hear words if two people are talking at the same time – they all muddle together. You folks love your music and would be devastated to have this happen to you. Please learn from my experience!!
    3. You guys introduced me to ELO and the Steve Miller Band. Thank you!
    4. You guys didn’t play a lot of KISS or Van Halen or those other fraudulent noisy “artists”. (At least when I was home.) Thank you again! I notice you didn’t mention any of them in the music you listen to to give you inspiration.
    5. The 45 rpm records of mine that had 2 songs on each side were called “EP’s” for Extended Play and were more affordable versions of the 33 1/3 rpm LP’s.
    6. Lots of my single 45’s were used and were bought cheaply from the company that supplied the Juke Box machines in restaurants. We checked them out every week at their store on Erie Street to see what was newly available. Very frugal on newspaper delivery boy wages of $3 per week. (Yes I have my pants hitched up, young feller).
    7. The “Telefunken” we had was really a “Grundig” but sounded every bit as good. Also, it wasn’t Grandpa Harrison’s machine but was bought by your mother with the wages she earned from her first job after school days were over and she was living at home with her mom and dad. It was the main part of her “dowry” when we were married – the remainder being the LP’s she purchased before we met. I wish I could say I contributed to the Union also but I’m afraid all I had was a debt owing for the suit I got married in.
    8. Thank you Doug for introducing me to Brian Eno. I still can’t identify his productions but the word ENO comes in very handy in crossword puzzles.
    9. I appreciated what you were saying about music and associations with other feelings. I still remember listening to Vivaldi while driving in West Virginia, coming to the crest of a mountain while the music was reaching a crescendo, and having this beautiful vista of mountains, valleys, roads, trees, colours, blue sky, clouds, etc. revealed at exactly the right moment! Wow! I also have very fond memories of listening to 40’s swing music which my parents listened to when I was young. I guess it just brings back memories of a very simple and happy time for me.
    10. Speaking of old music and of learning what was going on when the music was created by the artist ( you mentioned a book Revolution in the Head I think about the Beatles creative process.) One of the most interesting and entertaining nights I have ever experienced in the theatre was a concert put on by Joe Sealy, Cindy Church, and George Kohler. It was called the Nearness of You and was a compendium of music written by Hoagy Carmichael. He was long before my time of course but the words spoken at the concert were all lifted from the two autobiographies he wrote. They explained what was going on in his life and the jazz world at the time he wrote such songs as Stardust and Autumn Leaves. What made it all the more relevant to me was it gave me a glimpse as to what was going on in the world when my parents were growing up and “courting”. I was fascinated! I’m sure the book you referred to will be of the same interest to kids in the future.
    11. Finally I must say I was really interested in what you guys had to say. I’ve told you before that I am in awe of the things you can do that I have no clue about. It may seem easy to you just as working with numbers and logic is easy for me but I’m impressed. Even more so since you guys can handle all the logical thinking too! I know you get your creative ability from your Mom since she seems to know the words to every song she ever heard. She’d be great on Name That Tune.
    12. PS Words of Wisdom – Believe in your talent and celebrate it! It will bring you great joy I’m sure.

  3. Wow. Thanks Dad. I think that is the best comment….. ever. No need to be less wordy. I love what you have posted.
    The creative process has always been interesting to me but also a struggle. I share your ease with numbers and logic (though not as thoroughly) and find that it often battles with my creative side resulting in a difficult stale mate before the creating even begins.
    Kiss, Van Halen, ACDC and Led Zeppelin were played quite a bit by us when we were younger but perhaps not as much when you were around the house. I do still listen to them from time to time but not as much as the quieter, more soothing musics.
    Point taken re: loud music. I have had my share of ringing in the ears and have since worried that I would lose the ability to hear those sounds that I love so much. Unfortunately, I too have trouble listening to more than one conversation at a time. Noisy restaurants and bars are no place for me to hold a conversation. I don’t know if this is the result of hearing loss or a inability to focus.
    I’m gonna get me some Hoagy Carmichael. I’ve heard some and would like to learn/hear more.
    Thanks for your words of wisdom. I will share them with your Granddaughter for sure.

  4. Ok. This episode is outpacing the next most popular episode of the podcast by 2:1.
    So I’m curious. Who all is listening to this?
    Please leave a comment if you listen. Let me know if you want more of these; what you think; how you got here… anything. It’s popularity, while exciting, makes me VERY curious.
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

